Slow Control

54 Posts | Latest reply on 05/05/2013 12:09:19 by Sandi | Go to original / last post
Deleted Member's Profile
Deleted Member

In: NA
0% Karma0% Karma 0% Karma0% Karma

Hello everybody!

Is it just me or is slow control super difficult for a newbie to get to grips with?  I've been riding for about a month now, usually 3-4 times a week for about an hour so still very inexperienced but I actually feel more comfortable (and balanced!) at 30mph than I do at say 5-10mph.  When in very slow moving traffic I am trying to use clutch control to keep the bike moving slowly, and using my rear brake only around slow bends (for example when turning) but I'm still finding that whole clutch-throttle-rear brake combination a bit of a head spin!  Any tips at all?

Cheers guys!

Nikki xx
justjerry's Profile
justjerry

In: The Lizard
1% Karma1% Karma 1% Karma1% Karma

Slow riding's hard for us all, don't think you're alone in this.
I've been riding for 25 years and still have some moments at low speeds!!

Essentially riding a bike is about controlling centrifugal forces, one from each wheel and one from the engine.
The best trick is to keep some revs on...  not excessively so, but enough for the engine to generate a centrifugal force...  about 2500-3000 rpm should do the trick.
This will help keep the bike upright for you. 
Then as you rightly say, it's all clutch control and rear brake.
I guess it's all practice-practice-practice to master it.

Keep trying and you'll get there  Smile

JP's Profile
JP

In: Birmingham
95% Karma95% Karma 95% Karma95% Karma

if all else fails just fall off with style I do lol                                                                                                                                                                             
Ragnar's Profile
Ragnar

In: London
67% Karma67% Karma 67% Karma67% Karma