Overheating Problems - Advice Please

13 Posts | Latest reply on 29/08/2012 15:54:33 by JP | Go to original / last post
Simon66's Profile
Simon66

In: Peterborough
0% Karma0% Karma 0% Karma0% Karma

I've got an old VT500 EF which is overheating. There's no sign of any leaks from the hoses and the radiator cap looks ok. I'm no mechanic but am told if it was a head gasket I'd have white smoke coming from the exhaust which I don't, and if it was the water pump I'd probably hear it making a noise and when I rev the engine with the rad cap off if the pump's working I should be able to see the coolant drop slightly in the rad; all seems ok there. I don't think there's an air lock in the system and am at a loss for what to try next. Don't get to technical with any replies. What I know about mechanics I could write on a postage stamp, what I don't know I could fill a library with. Any ideas please would be appreciated.                                                                                                                                                                             
JP's Profile
JP

In: Birmingham
96% Karma96% Karma 96% Karma96% Karma

Take out the thermostat if that fails to keep it cool flush rad with radflush you could have some or all of the rad clogged with gunge                                                                                                                                                                             
Simon66's Profile
Simon66

Thanks JP, I'll give it a go tomorrow. Thumbs Up                                                                                                                                                                             
Deleted Member's Profile
Deleted Member

In: NA