Running in Issues

8 Posts | Latest reply on 24/08/2013 07:30:22 by MTS1200 | Go to original / last post
Tina_Hantz's Profile
Tina_Hantz

In: Gosport
0% Karma0% Karma 0% Karma0% Karma

Hi folks, I have a new Hayabusa.
As soon as it was delivered (week ago) I ripped open the manual to se what I would be restricted to during the running in period.
As it happens its 5000 revs until 1st service at 600 miles.
I have now done 450 of those 600 miles.
I looked at the handbook again today and I was a bit bemused when I read that I should avoid 'overloading' the engine.
What does this mean? I have not been over 5000 revs, but I have 'whacked it open' to get there!
Is it going to be a dog now???? lol.

Please advise x
Sprint900's Profile
Sprint900

In: leeds

Wouldn't know about bikes as never had a new one.Had loads of company cars when I was a parts manager at a Fiat dealers,mainly Puntos-used to drive them like someone who got their petrol paid for,they were always faster for being thrashed from new-got 140 (according to speedo) out of a 2000 mile old Punto GT!
Don't know what it did for longevity as got a new one every two months.....
JP's Profile
JP

In: Birmingham
96% Karma96% Karma 96% Karma96% Karma

Loading or overloading an engine is when you make it work hard going uphill in too higer gear or trying to pull away in 3rd gear hope this helps jp                                                                                                                                                                             
Tina_Hantz's Profile
Tina_Hantz

In: Gosport

thanks!                                                                                                                                                                             
Steve_H's Profile
Steve_H

In: Teesdale
58% Karma58% Karma 58% Karma58% Karma