Broken Clutch Cable

18 Posts | Latest reply on 29/04/2013 19:32:20 by Deleted User | Go to original / last post
Deleted Member's Profile
Deleted Member

In: NA
0% Karma0% Karma 0% Karma0% Karma

Hello everyone..

I'm very new to biking and this morning when I was about to set off on my Suzuki GZ125, I noticed there was absolutely no tension in the clutch lever.  When I looked and peeled back the sort of rubber protective cover where the silver cable goes into the black cable cover, it had completely snapped.  I was gutted as I can't ride my bike this weekend and what a weekend for it!  I am getting it fixed but I wanted to ask: how common is this a problem and what causes it?  My bike was apparently fully serviced before it was delivered to me.  FYI: It's a 59 plate and so surely in 4 years and 5500 miles on the clock it should still function ok?  How do I check for wear and tear on the cable in the future because I guess if I was riding the bike and that happened then that could be quite dangerous?  How would you deal with that situation?

Any input appreciated!

Nikki x
Wills's Profile
Wills

In: New Brighton
73% Karma73% Karma 73% Karma73% Karma

TBH a snapped clutch cable is a bit like a puncture, one of those annoying things that always seems to happen at the worst possible moment.
It does sound as if it's gone a bit early in the life of the bike, but I wouldn't lose any sleep over it. A new one is about £12 from Wemoto (Google them if you haven't heard of them) and if you don't feel up to fitting it yourself, I'm sure there will be some BM member over in Yorkshire (Emzed, where are you?) who'll be willing to help. It's only a quarter of an hour's work, fi that.                                                                                                                                                                             
Sprint900's Profile
Sprint900

In: leeds